So, apparently, Disney is making an adaptation of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Snow Queen.

At first, I was really excited. I’ve only read The Snow Queen recently, but I am still in love with the story. The idea of having this great story be adapted into a Disney animated film sounds like such an awesome idea. It’s the classic story about love, friendship, and going on a quest to save someone. The best part is that not only does the main female character (a little girl named Gerda) take up the mantle as heroine in order to rescue a childhood friend (a boy named Kai), but this is probably the only Andersen story that doesn’t feature a little girl dying or getting her feet cut off. It would be so awesome to see this fairy tale be added to the Disney Animated canon…

If they were actually following the fracking story, I mean.

Here’s the synopsis for the adaptation, which is going to be titled Frozen:

Anna teams up with a mountain man named Kristoff and his reindeer companion Sven to go on a quest to find Anna’s sister Elsa, the Snow Queen, who has banished herself to the mountains into a snow palace, to put an end to the eternal winter she has cursed the Arendelle kingdom to suffer.

…Where the heck is Gerda? Or Kai? Or the Little Robber Girl? The Snow Queen has a sister? What the heck is going on, Disney?

Okay, okay, I’m not mad. I’m not. I actually do like the cast choice, at least for the voice of the Snow Queen. (Idina Menzel is perfect to play her!) However, this is not the story that Andersen wrote. I mean, neither of the Disney movies follow their original sources to the letter, but when you look at both the books/history and then the movies, you can still see the similarities. You can still see that there are some elements to each movie that is grounded with the originally story.

FrozenFrozen is a completely different story. I mean, I wasn’t hoping for something to follow the story word for word, but I wanted to be familiar with at least some of the characters, to see some of the characters I have grown to love. The only character in this movie that actually is present in Andersen’s story is the Snow Queen herself.

Eh. It’s not as if I’m going to boycott the film or anything. I’ll probably still watch it, if only to entertain my baby cousins. But to see at least some reference to the ice puzzle, or Gerta and Kai would be nice.

7 thoughts on “So, apparently, Disney is making an adaptation of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Snow Queen.

  1. If you like the Snow Queen, then I would definitely recommend the old animated movie of it (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cV1M1y595_U is one of the English versions on YouTube). I think it was made in the 50’s in Russia but don’t quote me on that. All I know for certain is that I watched it a lot growing up and it stays true to the story.

    I’ve really disliked the newer Disney “fairy tales” because they keep going further and further away from the true stories. It helps that they don’t outright call them by the same title because otherwise, I would not be able to watch them without fanraging.

    • Thanks for the link! I’ll check it out later today.

      To be fair, a lot of the fairy tales (except Peter Pan and The Little Mermaid, of course) that Disney has adapted were mostly based on the Brothers Grimm or Charles Perrault versions of the tales, and those tales had already trailed away from the original versions of the stories. That’s the thing with fairy tales, they have always been revised and retold, and they still are; sometimes for the better, and sometimes for the worse. Disney isn’t the only animated studio that has done this; they have just been continuing that tradition of retelling stories, even if it was probably unintentional.

      However, there is a difference between revising stories and talking down to your audience with a completely different story. That’s Disney’s real problem right now. They don’t seem to trust kids anymore, at least to the point to know that children can still handle some darkness in their stories. I mean, maybe that has to do with some pressure from an organization run by parents or whatever, but still.

      I’m sorry if none of this makes any sense, I’m kind of rambling.

      • Actually, your ramblings make perfect sense to me. And the second part was what I meant about Disney going further away from the fairy tales. Actually, if you watch the Disney fairy tales in order of creation, you can see them start close to the well known stories and drift further away with the occasional exception. (Yes I have done this and no I don’t think it’s weird.)

        I guess what bothers me the most about the Disney retellings is that a lot of children will only know the stories through Disney movies.

    • They said that it was based or “inspired” by Andersen’s story, so that’s what I assumed. Hell, the rest of their fairy tales had been “inspired” by the Brothers Grimm or Charles Perrault versions, and they still kept the basic formulas. The only thing they kept in Frozen was the Snow Queen, and they’re going to make her into an anti-villain/hero or something–which I’m okay with. I really am. I just wanted the other characters to be there too.

      Also worth noting, they kept the concept of one’s heart becoming frozen, but I’m not sure if they kept the idea of “frozen” basically meaning that a person just sees the bad in everything.

      It’s a little sad, because Disney actually has been doing well, at least since Wreck-it Ralph and Brave have shown up. (I have chosen to ignore their Disney fairy franchise, because. No. Just, no.) They’ve been creating some original stories that are great. Even with The Princess and the Frog and Tangled, they still managed to tell original stories while keeping the same basic concepts and formulas present in the original tales. I just don’t understand why they couldn’t do that with The Snow Queen.

      Eh. Sorry. Long comment is long.

Leave a Reply

