20130612-142336.jpg

The Bartimaeus Trilogy: The Amulet of Samarkand.

I have a bit of a soft spot for this series. It was given to me as a Christmas present back in 2004. Unfortunately, like with Harry Potter, I placed this baby on a shelf and didn’t touch it for a couple of years, not even when I got the second book, The Golem’s Eye. Then one day, during the summer before I started my Junior year of high school, I finally picked up the book. I had been looking through my book shelf, trying to figure out which books I should give away or put in storage. I had been tempted to give this book away, since I’d never read it, but I decided that before I would do anything, I would read a bit of the book.

I ended up spending that afternoon, as well as the rest of the week, leaning over The Amulet of Samarkand and being entranced with the story Jonathan Stroud had weaved. I wanted more–and I got more.

Up first for my little Summer Reading Challenge is…

2 thoughts on “Up first for my little Summer Reading Challenge is…

    • It really is such an awesome series. Have you guys read the new book, The Ring of Solomon? I plan on reading that next (out of order, I know, but I’ve been wanting to finish from where I left off with it).

Leave a Reply

