Wow, new followers and people who like my post?

Thank you! I’m going to try being more active on this blog. Not only because I have little to nothing to do with my time, other than make sure my house doesn’t fall apart, but because it’s about time I start disciplining myself when it comes to writing. It’s going to be difficult, because habits die hard; but I will try.

So, I guess here’s a little updated version of the “About Me” page:

My name is Iris Claudio. I finally graduated from college this past May from Queens College (CUNY). I am twenty-three, but don’t feel all that different from when I was twenty or even nineteen. Probably the only difference between now and then is that I’ve gotten heavier (with a lot of leg muscle, shockingly enough). I have a Bachelor’s in English, a degree that can either be wonderful or absolutely useless. I’m really hoping to turn it more into the former, and use the skills I have required for a good job.

Also, in case anyone is curious, I can type up to seventy-one words per minute. I have good skills in Microsoft Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Outlook. As for my work experience, I have worked in an office setting, volunteered at a nursing home, and I tutored fellow students for a couple of semesters. While I’m not officially employed by anyone right now, I have been editing and proofreading some student’s college papers and giving them advice on writing and research. Sometimes, I even get paid!

I’ve never really gotten an award, per se. I mean, I had been on Queens College’s Dean’s List since 2010, but I’m not sure you can count that in the business world. Probably my best accomplishment was finally traveling to Italy, specifically Rome. Granted, it was a family trip, but it was so incredible! Rome is a beautiful city full of history in nearly every corner. Yeah, I know how that sounds, but it’s true. The history is not just in the Colosseum, or in the Vatican; it’s written all over the buildings, the cobblestone streets, the tight alleys, the people, the art, and the culture. We had great food, stayed in a nice flat, and we even picked up some Italian. (My dad knows it better than I do, though, heh.) There is a lot that I can write about my trip to Italy and Europe in general, but that might have to wait. My only regret is that we didn’t get to see more of Italy, but that’s fine. My family might be doing another excursion into Europe next year. I can’t wait!

Yes, I am selling myself. Mostly because I’m one of the main people who should sell myself to employers, not just the connections within my growing network (though I appreciate all of them). Not that I think this blog will get me a job or anything, but I can now back up what I put on my resume about this blog; that it is still active.

Warning: my life isn’t all that interesting as a whole, but I want to make like it is. I want to make my life a little more interesting too. I have all the time in the world for that now.

Leave a Reply

